Over 160 Students to Share $200,000 in Scholarships

Four year colleges and universities. Military academies. Community colleges. Technical schools.

This is where Main Street Community Foundation scholarship recipients will be furthering their education in the fields of business, healthcare, criminal justice, journalism, education, engineering, visual arts, skilled trades and so much more.

Over 160 students at varying levels of their academic careers were awarded a total of $200,000 in scholarships from Main Street Community Foundation. The students – graduating high school seniors, current college students and adult learners – hail from the towns of Bristol, Burlington, Plainville, Plymouth, Southington and Wolcott as well as other communities.

The majority of scholarship grants were awarded during the Community Foundation’s June 11, 2018 Scholarship Reception at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol. The Reception, which is held annually to celebrate the recipients and thank the generous donors, was attended by nearly 240 people.

“This year’s group of scholarship recipients is very impressive,” says Susan Sadecki, President & CEO of the Community Foundation. “We are proud to support these students and grateful to the donors whose generosity has made scholarships possible for over 20 years.”

Scholarship grants were awarded from 73 of the 231 named funds administered by the Community Foundation and established by generous local individuals, families and businesses. Although each scholarship fund has unique criteria, all donors seek to assist students in pursuing their education and career goals; they have a belief that helping students ease the financial obligations of education is an investment in the future.

All scholarships are awarded through a competitive application process. A volunteer selection committee appointed by the Foundation’s Board of Directors evaluates all applicants before recommending recipients.

The 2018 Main Street Community Foundation scholarship recipients honored at the reception are as follows:

  • 4 Burns Scholarship - St. Joseph/St. Paul Fund: Luke Hines and Gianna Houle
  • Christian Arndt Scholarship Fund: Jessica Dupont
  • E. Bartlett Barnes Award of Journalism Fund: Alexander Mika and Liberta Rrahimi
  • Because of 26 Kindness Award Scholarship Fund: Mackenzie Beaupre and Cora Altomari
  • Stanley P. Bitel Memorial Fund: Nicholas Osuch
  • Sylvia Bodak Memorial Scholarship Fund: Evan Bender
  • Peter and Marjorie Bossi Educational Fund: Philip Andrews
  • Bowerman Scholarship Fund: Emily Gdovin
  • Bristol Boys & Girls Club Schulman Fund: Isabella Castrogiovanni, Chloe Cyr and Marlon Paltoo
  • Bristol Lions Club F. Fred Soliani Memorial Scholarship Fund: Amy Bhagaloo
  • Bristol Police Scholarship Fund: John Duncan
  • Bristol Yale Club Scholarship Fund: Feryal Al Hamadani, Jasiel Feliberty, Phirin Khen, Anna Korpanty, Maciej Kossuth, Magdalena Kossuth, Selena Norton, Shy-Ann Whitten and Gabriella Williams
  • Burlington Lions Charities Scholarship Fund: Hunter Cowger and Lauren McCard
  • Conn Acoustics Scholarship Fund: Nicholas Cranmer and Rebecca Dion
  • Peg Coughlin Nursing Scholarship Fund: Isabella Castrogiovanni
  • Rit Croce Academic and Vocational Scholarship Fund: Elizabeth Ouellette
  • Richard A. DellaVecchia Scholarship Fund: William Pfanzelt
  • Jeffrey Downes Memorial Scholarship Fund for the Trades: Theodore Marcone
  • Karen Finder Scholarship Fund: Brooke Schlosser
  • Carolyn Fisher Scholarship Fund: Adam Pelz
  • Olivia Fusco Memorial Art Scholarship Fund: Alyssa McDonald
  • GE's Industrial Solutions Scholarship Fund: Jarod Romankiw, Alexandra Schulz, Hannah Schulz, Renukanandan Tumu
  • Andrew and Murielle Giacomini Scholarship Fund: Angelica Rivera
  • Azilda Hebert Music Scholarship Fund: Cassidee Knapik
  • Dorothy Micloskey Ives Award Fund: Kara Friedman
  • Grace & Norma Joy Scholarship Fund: Tina Guo
  • John Kalinoski Scholarship Fund: Jacob Tellier
  • Vincent T. Kozyrski Scholarship Fund: Fiona Pare
  • Sean Landry Memorial Basketball Scholarship Fund: McKenzie Huria
  • Ray Machine Corp./Ray & Darlene Lassy Family Fund: Alyssa Prozzo
  • John J. and Doris Lazorik Memorial Scholarship Fund: Fadima Kamano, Anna Korpanty, Selena Norton
  • Leger Initiative for Education Fund: Rachel Lewis
  • Dave Lepore Journalism Scholarship Fund: Alexander Mika
  • Therese MacCallum "Great Kid" Scholarship Fund: Dylan Chiaro
  • Nicholas P. Maglio ACE Fund: Anna Korpanty
  • Elizabeth I. and Louis J. Matt Medical Scholarship Fund: Abigail Leander and Julia McPherson
  • Robert E. and Angeline P. McCormack Scholarship Fund: Emily Tinyszin
  • McMaster-Moulthrop Scholarship Fund: Desmond DeVille, Jasiel Feliberty, Michael Kaminski, Pat Kjornrattanawanich, Jacob Nelson, Selena Norton, Nicholas Osuch, Sydney Pina and Zoe Sinclair
  • Ken E. Micloskey Award: Corey Picard
  • Al and Joan Monico Scholarship Fund: Scarlett Rodriguez
  • NESMA Scholarship Fund: Fiona Pare and Ashley Nelson
  • AJR Nocera Memorial Fund: Feryal Al Hamadani and Desmond DeVille
  • Anthony Norton Scholarship Fund: Jessica Dupont
  • Scott W. Organ Student-Athletic Scholarship Fund: Amy Bhagaloo
  • Ralph Papazian Memorial Scholarship Fund: Maggie Santacroce
  • Estelle Delano Peterson Scholarship Fund: Cara Jones
  • Dorothy Dewey Picard Music Scholarship Fund: Philip Andrews
  • Plymouth Community Club Scholarship Fund: Jessica Dupont
  • Alice C. Pulsifer Memorial Scholarship Fund: Alexander Mika
  • Max and Ruth Rabin Scholarship Fund: Selena Norton
  • Radcliff Family Education Fund: Alexa Cahill, Tyrah Green, Selena Norton, David Poniatowski
  • Radcliff Plainville High School Fund: Jared Demmons, Gregory Sileo, Emanuel Yawin, Nicholas Zaleski
  • Louis J. Rascoe Scholarship Fund: Courtney Johnpiere
  • Julie A. Roche Nursing Scholarship Fund: Isabella Castrogiovanni
  • Clement J. Roy Scholarship Fund: Tina Guo
  • Dora Schubert Scholarship Fund: Alyssa Prozzo
  • Lawrence (Larry) Scelza Memorial Scholarship Fund: Katrina Mason
  • Glo Sessions Fund for Art Education: Raechel Klouda
  • Jill Lynne Shackett Educational Scholarship Fund: Marissa Brevetti and Emily Deloge
  • Southington Observer/StepSaver Scholarship Fund: Laura Furtak
  • Jay W. and Elizabeth M. Tyrrell Scholarship Fund: Alex Arango and Raechel Klouda
  • Louise (Humphrey) Van Gorder Music Camp Scholarship Fund: Luke Ashworth
  • Dr. Joan T. Wallace Prize for Highest Achievement in English at Southington High School: Lydia Yu
  • Peggy Ann Walsh Memorial Scholarship Fund: Anna Korpanty, Selena Norton, Fiona Pare
  • Kristen Warner Scholarship Fund: Morgan Santos
  • John Whitcomb Scholarship Fund: Anna Korpanty
  • Eva Brodowicz Wickwire Volunteer Scholarship Fund: Isabella Castrogiovanni
  • Pat & Bob Wollenberg Scholarship Fund for Special Education: Elizabeth Sears
  • Yarde Metals Memorial Scholarship Fund: Carly Brunelle, Nicole Collin, Chloe Cyr, Madison Cyr, Michael Kaminski, Nicole Ledesma, Alexis Thompson

Furthermore, the following scholarships were awarded to local secondary school students:

  • Keating-Monaghan Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded scholarship grants to 27 students attending St. Joseph School in Bristol
  • Lena M. & Peter L. Korotie Scholarship Fund awarded one student attending St. Paul Catholic High School a scholarship grant
  • Malerbo Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded scholarship grants to 21 students attending St. Paul Catholic High School in Bristol
  • Saint Matthew School Scholarship Fund awarded one student attending St. Matthew School in Bristol a scholarship grant