Over 130 Students Awarded $171,000 in Scholarships

June 22, 2016 - Four year colleges and universities. Military academies. Community colleges. Technical schools.

This is where Main Street Community Foundation scholarship recipients will be furthering their education in the fields of business, medicine, criminal justice, journalism, education, visual arts, skilled trades and so much more.

Over 130 students at varying levels of their academic careers were awarded a total of $171,000 in scholarships from Main Street Community Foundation. The students – graduating high school seniors, current college students and adult learners – hail from the towns of Bristol, Burlington, Plainville, Plymouth, Southington and Wolcott as well as other communities.

The majority of scholarship grants were awarded during the Community Foundation’s
June 22, 2016 Scholarship Reception at Hawk’s Landing Country Club in Southington. The Reception, which is held annually to celebrate the recipients and thank the generous donors, was attended by nearly 240 people.

“This year’s group of scholarship recipients is very impressive,” says Susan Sadecki, President & CEO of the Community Foundation. “We are proud to support these students and grateful to the donors whose generosity has made these awards possible for the last 21 years.”

Scholarship grants were awarded from 65 of the 210 named funds administered by the Community Foundation and established by generous local individuals, families and businesses. Although each scholarship has unique criteria, all donors seek to assist students in pursuing their education and achieving their goals and dreams; they have a belief that helping students ease the financial obligations of education is an investment in the future.

All scholarships are awarded through a competitive application process. A volunteer selection committee appointed by the Foundation’s Board of Directors evaluates all applicants before recommending recipients.

The 2016 Main Street Community Foundation scholarship recipients honored at the reception are as follows:

  • 4 Burns Scholarship - St. Joseph/St. Paul Fund: Luke Hines and Gianna Houle
  • Christian Arndt Scholarship Fund: Erka Mullaj
  • E. Bartlett Barnes Award of Journalism Fund: Gabrielle Raymond
  • Because of 26 Kindness Award Scholarship Fund: Morgan Shubert
  • Sid Bernard Memorial Art Scholarship Fund: Amy Ozga
  • Stanley P. Bitel Memorial Fund: Rachel Klem
  • Peter and Marjorie Bossi Educational Fund: Kayla Rozanski
  • Bowerman Scholarship Fund: Tyler Roberts
  • Bristol Boys & Girls Club Schulman Fund: Isabella Castrogiovanni and Dejah Holley
  • Bristol Lions Club F. Fred Soliani Memorial Scholarship Fund: Karen Guzman
  • Bristol Police Scholarship Fund: Brittany Stancavage
  • Bristol Yale Club Scholarship Fund: Morgan Shubert
  • Burlington Lions Charities Scholarship Fund: Grant Harris, Katherine Hunt, Jennifer Merritt
  • Conn Acoustics Scholarship Fund: Michael McGuinness Jr. and Angelika Muter
  • Peg Coughlin Nursing Scholarship Fund: Isabella Castrogiovanni
  • Rit Croce Academic and Vocational Scholarship Fund: Kaitlin Steinen
  • Richard A. DellaVecchia Scholarship Fund: Alex Rasten
  • Karen Finder Scholarship Fund: Michael Nguyen
  • Carolyn Fisher Scholarship Fund: Kara Raboin
  • GE's Industrial Solutions Scholarship Fund: Hermana Henry, Brian Legato, Jarod Romankiw, Alexandra Schulz, Alexander Skonieczny, Renukanandan Tumu
  • Andrew and Murielle Giacomini Scholarship Fund: Brittany Stancavage
  • Dorothy Micloskey Ives Award Fund: Catherine Gullotta
  • Grace & Norma Joy Scholarship Fund: Karen Guzman
  • Vincent T. Kozyrski Scholarship Fund: Morgan Shubert
  • Sean Landry Memorial Basketball Scholarship Fund: Ian Schmidt
  • John J. and Doris Lazorik Memorial Scholarship Fund: Karen Guzman and David Kaminski
  • Leger Initiative for Education Fund: Kaitlin Steinen
  • Dave Lepore Journalism Scholarship Fund: Gabrielle Raymond
  • Thérèse MacCallum "Great Kid" Scholarship Fund: Garrett Gugliotti
  • Nicholas P. Maglio ACE Fund: Morgan Murphy
  • Elizabeth I. and Louis J. Matt Medical Scholarship Fund: Allison Trudeau and Nicole Wolf
  • Robert E. and Angeline P. McCormack Scholarship Fund: Krysta Tsangarides
  • McMaster-Moulthrop Scholarship Fund: Zachary Aldieri, Olivia Apergis, Dante Coco, Eric Duval, Maximillian Grant, Jack Hale, Elizabeth Hrywniak, George Pittman, Gabrielle Raymond, Deborah Sarimento, Gaggan Singh, Brittany Stancavage, Matthew Varnum, Nicole Wolf
  • Ken E. Micloskey Award: Alex Ieronimo
  • Al and Joan Monico Scholarship Fund: Jineyshka Martinez
  • NESMA Scholarship Fund: Olivia Apergis and Nicole Ledesma
  • AJR Nocera Memorial Fund: Taylor Hartz and Morgan Shubert
  • Scott W. Organ Student-Athletic Scholarship Fund: Dejah Holley
  • Ralph Papazian Memorial Scholarship Fund: Gregory Lozier
  • Estelle Delano Peterson Scholarship Fund: Halley King
  • Dorothy Dewey Picard Music Scholarship Fund: Kayla Rozanski
  • Plymouth Community Club Scholarship Fund: Brianna DellaValle
  • Alice C. Pulsifer Memorial Scholarship Fund: Jennifer Harlow
  • Max and Ruth Rabin Scholarship Fund: Erika Grant
  • Radcliff Family Education Fund: Bethany Cucka, Tyrah Green, Katie Pelkey, David Poniatowski
  • Radcliff Plainville High School Fund: Stephen Gallo, Vincent Mullin, Gregory Sileo, Nicholas Zaleski
  • Louis J. Rascoe Scholarship Fund: Kara Raboin
  • Julie A. Roche Nursing Scholarship Fund: Isabella Castrogiovanni
  • Douglas Roland Aid for the Trades Scholarship Fund: Marena Baldyga and Tyler Chasse
  • Clement J. Roy Scholarship Fund: Destinee Sims
  • Lawrence (Larry) Scelza Memorial Scholarship Fund: Natalie Gallo
  • Glo Sessions Fund for Art Education: Amy Ozga
  • Jill Lynne Shackett Educational Scholarship Fund: Anastasia Dzikas
  • Southington Observer/StepSaver Scholarship Fund: Rachel Klem
  • Jay W. and Elizabeth M. Tyrrell Scholarship Fund: Nahndi Ali and Taylor Hartz
  • Louise (Humphrey) Van Gorder Music Camp Scholarship Fund: Adam Gwara
  • Peggy Ann Walsh Memorial Scholarship Fund: Karen Guzman, Nicole Ledesma, Matthew Varnum
  • Kristen Warner Scholarship Fund: Rachel Dufresne
  • John Whitcomb Scholarship Fund: Jenna Rodjenski
  • Eva Brodowicz Wickwire Volunteer Scholarship Fund: Nicole Wolf
  • Yarde Metals Memorial Scholarship Fund: Carly Brunelle, Jake Clark, Jamie Guelli, Bailey House, David Kaminski, Nicole Ledesma, Karen Littau, Brittney Murphy, Alissa Rogers, Alexis Thompson, Jennifer Thorpe, Nicholas Thorpe

Furthermore, the following scholarships were awarded to local secondary school students:

  • Keating-Monaghan Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded scholarship grants to 25 students attending St. Joseph School in Bristol
  • Lena M. & Peter L. Korotie Scholarship Fund awarded one student attending St. Paul Catholic High School a scholarship grant
  • Malerbo Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded scholarship grants to 23 students attending St. Paul Catholic High School in Bristol
  • St. Matthew School Scholarship Fund awarded one student attending St. Matthew School in Bristol a scholarship grant