Over 120 Students Awarded $146,000 in Scholarships

Over 120 Students to Share $146,000 in Scholarships
Thanks to scholarship funds established over the last 20 years


June 9, 2015 - Main Street Community Foundation has awarded $146,000 in scholarships to a group of over 120 students at varying levels of their academic careers from the towns of Bristol, Burlington, Plainville, Plymouth, Southington and Wolcott as well as other communities.

The majority of scholarship grants were awarded during the Foundation’s June 9, 2015 Scholarship Reception at Hawk’s Landing Country Club in Southington. The Reception, which is held annually to celebrate the recipients and thank the generous donors, was attended by over 200 people.

“This year’s group of scholarship recipients is impressive,” says Susan Sadecki, President & CEO of the Community Foundation. “We are thrilled to support these students and grateful to the donors whose generosity has made these awards possible for 20 years.”

For the 2015/2016 academic year, a total of 145 scholarship grants were awarded from 62 named funds administered by the Community Foundation and established by generous local individuals, families and businesses. Although each scholarship has unique criteria, all donors seek to assist students in pursuing their education and achieving their goals and dreams; they have a belief that helping students ease the financial obligations of education is an investment in the future.

All scholarships are awarded through a competitive application process. A selection committee appointed by the Foundation’s Board of Directors evaluates all applicants before recommending recipients.

The 2015/2016 Main Street Community Foundation scholarship recipients are as follows:

  • 4 Burns Scholarship - St. Joseph/St. Paul Fund: Gianna Houle and Zachary Jones
  • Christian Arndt Scholarship Fund: George Andrews
  • E. Bartlett Barnes Award of Journalism Fund: Haley Knox and Rachel Petke
  • Because of 26 Kindness Award Scholarship Fund: Julia Reilly
  • Sid Bernard Memorial Art Scholarship Fund: Sophia Sabella
  • Peter and Marjorie Bossi Educational Fund: Kayla Rozanski
  • Bowerman Scholarship Fund: Marissa Brevetti
  • Bristol Boys & Girls Club Schulman Fund: Isabella Castrogiovanni and Salvatore Paparello
  • Bristol Lions Club F. Fred Soliani Memorial Scholarship Fund: Nicholas Savino
  • Bristol Police Scholarship Fund: Joseph Strid
  • Bristol Yale Club Scholarship Fund: Natasha Peabody and Kayla Rozanski
  • Burlington Lions Charities Scholarship Fund: Nate Cook and Natalie Ruel
  • Conn Acoustics Scholarship Fund: Angelika Muter and Brooke Roath
  • Peg Coughlin Nursing Scholarship Fund: Jennifer Lucia
  • Rit Croce Academic and Vocational Scholarship Fund: Joseph Grabowski
  • Richard A. DellaVecchia Scholarship Fund: Tyler Chasse
  • Carolyn Fisher Scholarship Fund: Lindsay Bouchard
  • Andrew and Murielle Giacomini Scholarship Fund: Haley Knox
  • Azilda Hebert Music Scholarship Fund: Philip Andrews
  • Dorothy Micloskey Ives Award: Katherine Kelly
  • Grace & Norma Joy Scholarship Fund: Robert Roberge
  • Vincent T. Kozyrski Scholarship Fund: George Andrews
  • Sean Landry Memorial Basketball Scholarship Fund: Liberta Rrahimi
  • John J. and Doris Lazorik Memorial Scholarship Fund: Nicholas Savino
  • Leger Initiative for Education Fund: Kris Spence
  • Dave Lepore Journalism Scholarship Fund: Haley Knox
  • Thérèse MacCallum “Great Kid” Scholarship Fund: Timothy Carrier and Nicole Chudy
  • Nicholas P. Maglio ACE Fund: Salvatore Paparello
  • Elizabeth I. and Louis J. Matt Medical Scholarship Fund: Emily Duda
  • Robert E. & Angeline P. McCormack Scholarship Fund: Rachel Nardi
  • McMaster—Moulthrop Scholarship Fund: Andrew Damon-Smith, Kelsey Giammatteo, Colleen King, Jean-Souvern Rioux, Nicholas Savino
  • Ken E. Micloskey Award: George Andrews
  • NESMA Scholarship Fund: Jessica Nelson and Kalie Pasqualicchio
  • AJR Nocera Memorial Scholarship Fund: Lauren Hayes and Kayla Rozanski
  • Scott W. Organ Student-Athletic Scholarship Fund: Stephen Goodrich
  • Ralph Papazian Memorial Scholarship Fund: Stephanie Maule
  • Estelle Delano Peterson Scholarship Fund: Joseph Stancavage
  • Dorothy Dewey Picard Scholarship Fund: Philip Andrews
  • Plymouth Community Club Scholarship Fund: Joseph Stancavage
  • Alice C. Pulsifer Memorial Scholarship Fund: Marissa Padilla
  • Max and Ruth Rabin Scholarship Fund: Catherine Lafreniere
  • Radcliff Family Education Fund: Bethany Cucka, Katie Pelkey, David Poniatowski, Ivy Yung
  • Radcliff Plainville High School Fund: Stephen Gallo, Vincent Mullin, Alexis Rodriquez, Nicholas Zaleski
  • Louis J. Rascoe Scholarship Fund: Lindsay Bouchard
  • Julie A. Roche Nursing Scholarship Fund: Julia D’Abramo
  • Douglas Roland Aid for the Trades Scholarship Fund: Sean Huria
  • Clement J. Roy Scholarship Fund: Kalie Pasqualicchio
  • Lawrence (Larry) Scelza Memorial Scholarship Fund: Danielle Dickinson
  • Glo Sessions Fund for Art Education: Amy Ozga
  • Jill Lynne Shackett Educational Scholarship Fund: Kaitlin Douglas
  • Southington Observer/StepSaver Scholarship Fund: Rachel Klem
  • Jay & Elizabeth Tyrrell Scholarship Fund: Colleen Feeney and Amy Ozga
  • Peggy Ann Walsh Memorial Scholarship Fund: Sophia Dzikas, Stephen Goodrich and Natasha Peabody
  • Kristen Warner Scholarship Fund: Rachel Nardi
  • John Whitcomb Scholarship Fund: Joseph Grabowski
  • Yarde Metals Memorial Scholarship Fund: Carly Brunelle, Nicole Collin, Jamie Corda, Lauren Dunlap, Katharine Graham, Lauren Hayes, Shawn Lozada, Laura Miller, Dustin Mroczek, Leslie Mroczek, Brittney Murphy, Alissa Rogers, Victoria Russo, Brendan West, Tyjee Williams

In addition to those listed above, the Karen Finder Scholarship Fund will be awarded to a graduating senior during Hartford’s Sport and Medical Sciences Academy graduation ceremony this month.

Furthermore, the following scholarships were also awarded for the 2015/2016 academic year to local secondary school students:

  • Keating-Monaghan Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded scholarship grants to 36 students attending St. Joseph School in Bristol
  • Lena M. & Peter L. Korotie Scholarship Fund awarded one student attending St. Paul Catholic High School a scholarship grant
  • Malerbo Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded scholarship grants to 22 students attending St. Paul Catholic High School in Bristol
  • St. Matthew School Scholarship Fund awarded two students attending St. Matthew School in Bristol a scholarship grant