2018 Accomplishments Celebrated at Foundation’s Annual Meeting

Before a gathering of board members, past leadership and staff at Main Street Community Foundation’s Annual Meeting, the Foundation celebrated 2018, which saw the distribution of $1.7 million in grants and scholarships to benefit the residents of Bristol, Burlington, Plainville, Plymouth, Southington and Wolcott through programs and community leadership initiatives. Over $17.3 million has been distributed since the Foundation’s establishment in 1995.

Furthermore, the Foundation received $1.4 million in contributions in 2018 and 11 new funds were established at the Foundation by local individuals, families and organizations to support causes they care about to better their communities.

“Our local communities have very generous residents,” Susan Sadecki, the Foundation’s President and CEO, explained. “They have established a total of 236 funds and made contributions that fuel these grants to their favorite nonprofits, their towns and their most passionate causes, like education, healthcare and the environment. We are honored to help our donors carry out their wishes and fulfill their charitable goals.”

New Year Brings New Leadership to MSCF Board of Directors
The Main Street Community Foundation also elected new officers at its Annual Meeting. John D. Scarritt handed off the gavel of Board Chair to Marguerite P. Fletcher and became the Past Board Chair. Serving alongside Fletcher will be two Vice-Chairs - Valerie A. DePaolo and Scott Fournier. Moving into the role of Secretary is David J. Aldieri and the Assistant Secretary will be Kristine J. Dargenio. Finally, the new Treasurer will be Michael J. Brault.

In addition, two directors - Mark Malley of Plymouth and Jennifer Scully of Wolcott - were re-elected to the Board. The Community Foundation Board consists of community leaders charged with ensuring donors’ intentions are fulfilled in perpetuity.

“The Board of Directors plays an essential role in guiding the Foundation’s work in the region,” said Susan Sadecki, President & CEO of the Foundation. “We are grateful for their generous commitment of time and the valuable expertise each brings to the Foundation.”